A Slice of Life

Life, cooking and much more

Blog Bites #1: Gajar Halwa in a Rice Cooker

with 16 comments

Nupur at One Hot Stove is hosting an event, Blog Bites. The first part of the event is all about cookers – pressure cooker, slow cooker and rice cooker. This post is my entry to this event.

The rice cooker I have is a wedding gift from my colleagues at my previous company.   This is one of the best wedding gifts I have got. I use it all the time. It is easy to clean and maintain. When I have guests coming over, I make plain rice or any colored rice in this. I leave it alone in the rice cooker and get busy preparing other things. I don’t have to worry about checking on it and re-heating it at lunch time. The rice sits there innocently while the aroma spreads to the entire house and works on your appetite. The bottom line is: rice cookers are a must in every kitchen. Lakshmi and the rest of the gang, thanks for the gift! Hey Lakshmi, you cook some wonderful things with your rice cooker, why don’t you post some of your recipes for us? You can even post an entry for this event.

I am lucky to have been born in a family where there are great cooks and relish-ers in umpteen numbers. Recipes handed down from 3-4 generations which were previously made in kitchens with stone stoves are made even now in modern kitchens with chimneys. And these recipes remain a favorite with all of us even today. I always go back to these tried, tested and relished to the core recipes which give me a comfort zone and confidence that I can get this right.

The ubiquitous gajar halwa is one such dessert which I go back to, no matter what the occasion. If someone is coming over for lunch at a short notice, then I put together the ingredients and get the dessert ready in minutes. Not much preparation needed (apart from grating the carrots and that too is easy if you have a food processor) and a few ingredients which are available in the kitchen all the time. If gajar halwa sounds too plain and boring, then top it up with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and it becomes more interesting. I have always made this in a pressure cooker or in a microwave, but when my cousin said she tried making doodhi halwa in a rice cooker, I got curious. So, I got this recipe from her and tried it myself but replaced doodhi with gajar and it came out exceedingly well. The best part about this recipe is you can reduce its calorie content by not using ghee. Yes, it is possible. You can make gajar halwa without ghee and it tastes great. My cousin doesn’t have a blog, so I can’t post a link to it.

Recipe: Serves 2

1. Carrots – 3-4 or about a quarter kg. Grate all the carrots and put it in a cup just right to hold this. We will use this cup as a measure for the rest of the ingredients. Add the grated carrots to the rice cooker.

2. Add a quarter cup of sugar (the same cup used above). I like halwa which is mildly sweet. If you like it sweeter, add a little more sugar to the rice cooker.

3.  Add a cup of milk.

4. Switch on the rice cooker and let the halwa cook. The sweet aroma will spread within a few minutes!

5. If you just can’t think of halwa without ghee, then this is where you add it. Add a few spoons of ghee to the half-cooked halwa and continue to cook.

6. The rice cooker will switch over to ‘Keep warm’ mode once the halwa is done. If you continue to keep the halwa in the rice cooker, then it might become too dry. It’s better to transfer it to a serving bowl.

7. Garnish the halwa with finely cut almonds and cashews. Enjoy the hot gajar halwa as is or top it up with a scoop of your favorite ice cream and enjoy the hot-n-cold combination.

Written by A

March 15, 2010 at 5:20 am

Posted in Blog Bites, cooking, food

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. All of 3 ingredients- to make this incredible dessert that practically cooks itself? This is wonderful. Thanks for sharing it.

    I was really happy to accept this entry from you, but in future editions, I hope you can try a recipe from another blogger, because that is the main premise of the event 🙂

    Nupur

    March 15, 2010 at 12:36 pm

  2. Hey! You have a very nice blog here. Great recipe for Gajar ka Halwa. No ghee! 🙂

    SS

    March 16, 2010 at 2:19 am

  3. Nupur, thanks for considering my entry. If I post an entry for the next event, it will definitely be based on a recipe from some blog.

    SS, gajar halwa without ghee was a little hard to digest, but when I tasted this it was just as tasty!

    anaamica

    March 17, 2010 at 3:30 am

  4. Hi ! I am glad you like the rice cooker. i too put everything in it and leave it alone to spread the aroma around :)….. this receipe for gajar halwa came at the right time…am searching for all possible healthy options to meet jr. eat carrots…will give it a try tomorrow. I hope ninad enjoyed it too.

    Lakshmi

    March 19, 2010 at 11:38 am

  5. Hey Lakshmi! Do try out and let me know how it came out. Hope Roshan likes it as much as Ninad did.

    anaamica

    March 19, 2010 at 11:44 am

  6. Thank you for sharing this recipe! I’m v eager to try this TODAY and have a couple of questions..
    1)Do we need to shut the rice cooker lid completely or leave it open?
    2)Can brownsugar/jaggery be substituted for sugar? (The pantry is running low on sugar)

    ~Nilu~

    December 7, 2010 at 9:31 pm

    • Hi Nilu,

      Thanks for dropping by.

      1. You need to shut the rice cooker completely, just like how you do when you cook rice. 2. You can certainly use brown sugar or jaggery. Your halwa might end up looking a bit different, but I am sure it will be as tasty as ever.

      Anamika

      anaamica

      December 8, 2010 at 7:29 am

  7. mam i want to make this recpie but i want to clear my confusion that your recpie calls for one cup grated carrot , one cup milk and sugar according to taste. i mean to ask these are the exact measurements for making this heavenly recpie.

    meenakshi

    January 22, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    • I don’t understand your question. If you are asking about the amount of sugar, then I would say 3/4th of a cup. If you like it too sweet, then make it 1 cup.

      anaamica

      January 24, 2011 at 4:30 am

      • actually i m asking one cup of milk is sufficient for one cup of grated gajar.

        meenakshi

        January 24, 2011 at 7:21 am

      • Sorry, I misunderstood your question. Yes, 1 cup of milk should be enough for 1 cup of grated carrot. However, if you feel the halwa is drying out in the rice cooker, you can always add more milk. If you like moist halwa, then definitely add more milk.

        anaamica

        January 24, 2011 at 8:43 am

  8. can you give the momos recpie

    meenakshi

    January 24, 2011 at 2:14 pm

  9. “rice cookers are a must in every kitchen” – couldn’t agree more! The thing is though that you only realize how good they are once you have one…

    Andrew

    February 9, 2011 at 3:06 pm

  10. I’ve always used my rice cooker nearly every day and am always looking online for new recipes to do, I’m sure to give this a go for my family, thank you.

  11. “Blog Bites #1: Gajar Halwa in a Rice Cooker A
    Slice of Life” was in fact a extremely good post, .
    I hope you keep publishing and I’ll continue reading! Thank you -Dillon

  12. Hi to every body, it’s my first pay a quick visit of this website; this webpage contains amazing and actually good data for readers.

    party planning

    June 16, 2013 at 7:30 am


Leave a comment