A Slice of Life

Life, cooking and much more

Chocolates

with 2 comments

I was hesitant to introduce chocolates in N’s diet. I knew he would love it and want more of it. I didn’t buy chocolates until he was over a year old and kept him away from it for as long as I could. Well, what do you know! Where do you think he got the first taste of chocolate? At the pediatrician’s clinic. I kid you not. Every time we visit N’s doctor, N gets a toffee. It is like a ritual and N looks forward to visiting the doctor. He is the only kid I know who is all excited about visiting his doctor.

I know I can request the doctor not to give him a chocolate, but what really bothers me is the fact that people give chocolates as gifts for every occasion. My colleague decided to drop by to collect something and he got a packet full of chocolates for N. My cousin came over for a stay and she had a box of chocolates. We visited an aunt of mine and she promptly gave some toffees to N. I know their intentions are all good, but chocolates are not really the best choice for a gift. N loves chocolates and it breaks my heart to refuse him a chocolate, so I don’t buy any. The only chocolates we have at home are all gifts and I have a big box full of them. N knows this and keeps digging into it every now and then.

I am guilty of this very mistake before I stood on this side of the court. I would have a handful of chocolates in my bag and would offer it to anyone and everyone. Never bothered about whether the parents were okay with it. Now that I am a mother myself, I understand people have opinions and chocolates may not be that welcome in every household.

I think fruits will make a better gift. Most of the kids love fruits and they are much more nutritious and filling than chocolates! Any other better gift ideas?

Written by A

February 15, 2011 at 3:45 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Once Ayaan was around 3 and understood the concept of weekdays, I told him that chocolates were bad for teeth and so we made a deal that he would get one chocolate on Mondays and Thursdays after dinner. It really helped because he didn’t ask for it everyday and yet didn’t feel deprived.

    Rohini

    May 5, 2011 at 10:49 am

    • That’s a good strategy. I will have to wait until N gets the concept of weekdays. Thanks for the idea!

      anaamica

      May 6, 2011 at 3:41 am


Leave a Reply

