A Slice of Life

Life, cooking and much more

Masala Puri

with 6 comments

Ever since Shilpa of Aayi’s Recipes posted a recipe for Masala Puri, I had been dying to try it. A friend of hers got this recipe from a gaadi-wala in Vijayanagar, Bangalore and passed it on to her. The recipe is authentic, coming from a gaadiwala, and Shilpa has yummy photos that accompany the recipe.

I didn’t have all the spices called for in the recipe, so I substituted in my own way. I used store bought puris and dream of making these puris at home one day. Sigh, a girl can dream, right? The dish turned out tasty and was gone in minutes! Next time around, I know I need to make this in a larger quantity.

Ingredients:
Serves 2

1 cup Green Peas (If you want to use dry peas, soak them overnight. If using frozen peas, soak for 2-3 hours)
1/4 cup Toor Dal
2 cups of Water
1 big Onion, finely chopped
2 Tomatoes, finely chopped
Coriander Leaves, minced
1 tsp Red Chilli Powder
Puris (Store bought)
Fine Sev (Store bought)
Salt
Dry Spices :
1/2 tsp Cloves
1″ Cinnamon
1 tsp Coriander Seeds
1 tsp Cumin Seeds
1 tsp Peppercorns

Green Chutney:
1/2 cup of Coriander Leaves
3-4 Green Chillies
1/4 cup of Water
Salt

Grind all the ingredients to make spicy, green chutney.

Sweet Chutney:
You can get the recipe from any blog. Here is one. Or use the Smith & Jones Bhel Puri Chutney, like me.

Method
1. Dry roast all the spices.
2. Pressure cook toor dal and peas separately. I mean, in different containers. Nobody is stopping you from pressure cooking them at the same time.
3. Grind the spices and toor dal together. Dal will add some thickness and consistency to the gravy.
4. Transfer the ground spices and dal to a flat bottom pan and heat it.
5. Add the cooked peas, red chilli powder, salt and water and bring it to a boil. Make sure the gravy is not too thick or not too watery.
6. When serving, break 4-5 puris in a plate. Spread a ladle of gravy on the puris. Add the finely chopped onion, tomatoes and coriander leaves. To make it extra spicy, add a bit of green chutney. If you like it a bit sweet, add the sweet chutney. Sprinkle sev generously. Eat!


I am sending this to Nupur’s Blog Bites#3 event. This entry also goes to Priya’s Cooking with Seeds – Cumin seeds hosted at Sara’s Corner this month.

Written by A

May 13, 2010 at 11:01 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh that looks so wonderful! You have me craving chaat at 6 AM. Thanks for the entry.

    Nupur

    May 13, 2010 at 11:11 am

  2. Oh, that was quick! I didn’t know you were up so early.

    anaamica

    May 13, 2010 at 11:19 am

  3. Masala puri looks inviting.yummy……..
    Drop in sometime

    chaitra

    May 28, 2010 at 10:17 am

  4. Pls pass me the plate. Its my fav. I too like the gaadiwala masala puri of Bangalore. Thanks for sending it to my event.

    Saraswathi Iyer

    June 10, 2010 at 8:58 am

  5. Thank you so much for taking the time post this Delicious Recipe, I tried it today, tasted exactly like the Bangalore street-side Gaadiwala. It’s a super Hit with my family!!! Am surely gonna make this again & again!

    Sapna

    March 20, 2011 at 7:39 pm

    • Hi Sapna,

      I am so glad you and your family enjoyed this recipe. Thanks for stopping by!

      anaamica

      March 21, 2011 at 4:05 am


Leave a Reply

