A Slice of Life

Life, cooking and much more

Jaangri

with 6 comments

Jaangri or Imarti or Jaangir is a close relative of Jalebi. Many people assume they are the same, but they are not. While Jaangri is made of urad dal, Jalebi is made from maida and needs overnight fermentation. And, of course, they taste different.

When I saw Harini’s recipe for Jaangri in Blog Bites #2 roundup, I knew I had to try it. I love Jaangri and I didn’t know it was so easy to make. When Nupur announced the third edition of Blog Bites, I decided to try Harini’s recipe for this event. Since the theme of Blog Bites #3 is adaptation, I will explain what change I have made to the original recipe. I did not use food color, but used some saffron to get the color. Simple, huh? This adaptation is more out of necessity – I didn’t have any food color handy and didn’t want to buy either because honestly, how many recipes do you know which call for food color?

Jaangris Ready!

Jaangri
Makes 8-10 pieces

Ingredients

Urad Dal, 1 cup
Rice 1/4, cup
Sugar, 1 cup
Water – Just enough to immerse the sugar
Saffron threads, 8-10
Oil for frying

Method

1. Soak Urad Dal and Rice for 3-4 hours. Drain all the water and transfer to a mixer pot. Grind them finely with as little water as possible. Don’t be impractical and not use water at all – your mixer will curse you. Add a few drops of water at a time until grinding becomes a possibility.
2. Take a thick enough plastic cover and cut a small hole in one corner. You are basically making a cone. If you are familiar with mehndi cones, you know what we are trying to do here. I am sure you can use a cloth for this, but I haven’t tried that method.
3. For the sugar syrup, place sugar in a thick bottomed vessel and add enough water to immerse the sugar. Add the saffron threads to it and heat this. Keep stirring in between and once you get one string consistency, take it off the flame.
4. Heat oil in a wok. Pour some batter into the cone and when the oil is really hot, squeeze out the batter through the hole and try to shape it like jaangri. I know it is easier said than done. Make two rounds at the center and draw petals around it. Fry on low flame till it is golden brown.
5. Dunk the jaangri in the sugar syrup and take it out after 3-4 minutes.
6. Serve the jaangri hot.

Jaangri being fried

Notes

1. You can start with the sugar syrup first. Keep it on low flame so that when the jaangris are fried, your sugar syrup is ready.
2. If you find that the batter is too watery, add some rice flour to it to salvage it. I know it will alter the taste, but altered jaangri is better than no jaangri, right?
3. The sugar syrup should be hot when you put jaangri into it, so you might have to reheat it in between.
4. Since we are not using food color, jaangris will not be as orange as you see in the stores. They will have a mild golden color.
5. Jaangris I made turned out really tasty. The only problem I had with this was they lost their crispiness after a few hours. Store bought jaangris are not soggy, but mine were. I have no idea why and if anyone of you has a clue, please let me know. The next time around, I want to make perfect jaangris!

I am sending this to Nupur’s Blog Bites #3.

Written by A

May 5, 2010 at 9:17 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for an incredible entry- your first attempt is simply picture perfect. I also finally understood the difference between jalebi and jaangri 🙂

    Nupur

    May 5, 2010 at 11:23 am

  2. Aww…they’re so cute. At first glance I though they’re jalebi. 🙂

    Sonia

    May 6, 2010 at 7:49 am

  3. Thanks Sonia. The photo you see was after n failed attempts!

    anaamica

    May 6, 2010 at 8:36 am

  4. Hey Anaamica, U did a gr8 job with the jaangris..trust me I dont like the use of food color either but I used it since I happened to have it!
    Reg the sogginess, I think it is due to the hot syrup u dunked the jaangris into..I can’t think of any other reason..what thou says?

    harini-jaya

    May 8, 2010 at 1:45 am

  5. Harini, I doubt if it was because of hot syrup. I tried experimenting with warm and cold syrup also, but the results were the same. I am guessing it is because of the way I fried. I will have to try changing that next time.

    anaamica

    May 10, 2010 at 4:11 am

  6. I also need to know why jangris lose their colour and crispness after a few hours…PLEASE HELP !!!!!

    Shamima

    October 12, 2013 at 12:50 am


Leave a Reply

