A Slice of Life

Life, cooking and much more

My own Chole recipe

with 2 comments

Now that I am at home and have lot of free time on hand, I try out new recipes. I look for something that suits my and my husband’s taste, something Indian, something spicy. Chole fitted well, so the search for the perfect chole recipe began. I scanned my often-visited recipe blogs and found a different version on each blog. A search confused me even further because the more I looked, the more variations I found. After a lot analysing and filtering, I made up a recipe which suited me.

Some of my modifications: I add onion paste instead of chopped onions to get a smoother gravy. I add tomatoes because the gravy gets a better color and tomatoes make for a thicker gravy. Adding the tea powder pouch while cooking chana is quite important. And use the cooked water, even though it looks yucky!

With these modifications, I have found the perfect recipe which is liked by all in my family. This has become quite a hit! I give out the recipe here, hoping that it will suit your taste buds too.

Chole (Serves two)

Ingredients:

1/2 cup kabuli chana (white chickpeas), soaked overnight
2 teaspoon tea powder for cooking chana
2 teaspoon oil
2 onions
2 tomatoes
1 teaspoon chilli powder
salt to taste

Whole masala

1 whole cardamom or elaichi
2 clove or laung or lavang
2 black pepper seeds
4 fenugreek or methi seeds
1 teaspoon cumin seeds or jeera
1 teaspoon corainder or dhaniya seeds
Cinnamon, roughly the size of 1/8th of your thumb (Sorry, I couldn’t find a better measuring technique!)


Method
:

Preparing the chana

1. Soak the chana overnight. Add enough water to immerse the chana and leave it aside for the night.
2. Pressure cook the chana. Put the soaked chana in the cooker and add some water. Put the tea powder in a pieace of cloth and tie it to make a pouch. Put this pouch in the cooker, along with the chana. Add some salt while cooking. Don’t add too much water while cooking since we will use all of this water later.

Whole masala

3. Fry all the whole masala ingredients without using any oil. Powder it.

The final step

4. Grind the onions to form a thick paste.
5. Grind the tomatoes to make the puree.
6. Heat oil and add the onion paste. Wait till the onions turn golden brown.
7. Add the powdered whole masala. Wait till the masala is properly fried in the oil.
8. Add chilli powder.
9. Add the tomato puree. Wait till the smell of raw tomatoes vanishes and the tomato puree looks like it’s ‘cooked’.
10. Add the cooked chana.
11. Add the cooked water after removing the tea powder pouch.
12. Add more water if needed.
13. Add salt and let it simmer for a few minutes.
14. Serve with roti or puri and enjoy!

Notes:

1. I use 1/2 cup of chana because I like more gravy and less chana. You can add more chana if you like. Keep in mind that the chana almost doubles in size after soaking and cooking.
2. You can add more onion and/or tomato if you need more gravy.
3. You can fry the cardamom peel too, if you like.
4. Cinnamon is quite strong, so be careful while adding. If you add more, you will have a very strong cinnamon taste which will hide the taste of the other spices.

PS: I will post a picture when I make chole next time!

Written by Anaamica

November 25, 2008 at 11:09 am

Posted in cooking, food, Recipe

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hey, sounds like a delicious dish!
    Will definitely try it out some time…thanks!

    Anu

    December 1, 2008 at 1:05 pm

  2. Sounds Awesome, I’m going to try this out!

    Anamika: Please do and let me know how it turned out.

    Munchkin's Mom

    June 2, 2009 at 2:05 am


Leave a Reply

